I've just returned from just over 2 weeks in Hakuba in late Jan and had a blast. The terrain there is inspiring although the early Jan rain crust restrained our exploration into the High alpine beckoning above Happo.

Anyways, whilst I've been boarding now for 10 years in mainly (Europe, BC and NZ), my experience in Japan is limited to Niseko and Hakuba. I spent 3 weeks in Niseko a few years back which was great but at bit small. Hakuba by contrast could keep me occupied for years! The only downside to my experience in Hakuba was the attitude of Patrol on some of the hills. Getting told off for cutting into an area outside of the ski area (where the ski area in any slide path below) is a tad annoying (particularly when you're used to the European attitude toward off-piste exploration).

I'm currently looking at arraning my 08/09 trip which will be done a little earlier this year (Xmas/ New Year). I was thinking of maybe starting the trip by heading to central Hokkaido to DAISETSUZAN KURODAKE which appears to be lift serviced backcountry and similar to some of the places we hit in Europe.

Has anyone been up that way? If so - how do you rate the terrain? I'm particularly curious as to how tight the trees are below the cable car. The limited pics I've gathered from the web suggest it would be classic fall line skiing (north facing, steepish and straight down to the town).

Anyways - any intel you have on the area (includig recommended places to stay) is highly valued.

Critta

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I was at Asahidake last week and it was really good fun with great snow. Kurodake was closed when I was there but should be opening soon. Might be an area that would be good to have a guide for the first day though as there are lots of cliffs in the area.