Hi all. I've been doing my jogging for about 2 months now. Basically 5 or 6 km every night, with just 4 nights off in that 2 month period. Pretty good going hey? I'Ve lost a fair bit of weight and feel all the better for it.

Just 1 problem. The last few days, I've been getting a pain in the area on the back of my leg, behind my knee. It's kinda hurting and I'm thinking I should take a rest for a day or two to let it get better.

Any ideas on what this might be?

Thanks!

• Replies 74
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Orange,

One thing you can check in regards to knee and leg problems are the shoes you run in. In general, people tend to either pronate or under pronate. Think those are the words that are used. If you have a bad/old pair of shoes that can lead to serious problems such as shin splints or tendon/ligament probs. Thats one thing to check.

Another is where youre running. Running on streets is terrible for you. Best place is to be on soft trails but here in Hiroshima theyre a little hard to get to and often far. Dont know where youre at but you can run in the mts behind Yokogawa station behind Mitakiji. Nice scenery too.

Best advice is to take it easy - if it hurts, dont run. Try icing too after running. If not, you can always take 1000 mg of Aleeve or Ibuprofin. You wont feel any pain ;\)

Orange, perhaps you should be giving it a rest just a bit more than you are right now.

Great to hear how motivated you still are though. I can't imagine hauling myself out jogging every single night.

eek.gif

The frequency of your running is maybe part of the problem. I run about 4 nights a week and don't have any serious problems. Although the problems I do have, I don't enjoy. So I'm thinking of getting some of these;

KJ-XR.jpg

I figger they may be the go for older farts.

http://www.kangoojumps.ch/pags.php?d=e2befc19670b465a963987f1f2bd0a30O417O414