How difficult is Kurodake & Asahidake for Beginner boarders?

Hi all,

I read on powder hounds that Kuro and Asahidake are not for beginners, how difficult are those 2 places? Possible to toe edge and heel edge down till you get comfortable? Looking to visit early December. Please comment, thanks!

In comparison, I have only been to red runs, which is steep for me.

Asahidake is definitely not for beginners. Nothing about it is beginner friendly. The top lift above the ropeway at Kurodake accesses a pretty easy slope that a beginner would manage to get down as long as they are not a complete, 1st timer type of beginner. It's damned cold up there though so not the best place to be a beginner. Certainly wouldn't recommend either place for complete beginners. Great places for sightseeing though if it's clear.

At Asahidake there are only 2 groomed runs down from the top of the ropeway from memory. They both are reasonably narrow, have steep bits, flat bits and a little uphill section. None of which are easy for a beginner. Plus it's cold. The base of Asahidake is around 1000m and tops out at 1600m. In Hokkaido that's putting you up into some really cold temps and the top of the ropeway is often quite windy and cloudy. All conditions that don't make it easy for someone who is struggling to get down the hill and falling over lots. And it's not a ski resort. It's a tourist ropeway that is much more popular in the greener months than in winter and base facilities are extremely limited. So for a beginner who may want to only ski part of the day there's little to do at the base. It's awesome for those who love off-piste and sidecountry. In my opinon you'd really want to be reasonably advanced to expert to consider going there.

@Mama

Skiing Kurodake - I don't think the beginner ski area is open that often (closed mid winter?). Boarding involves a long hike up towards the peak.