Zao Now daily snow and weather - Tuesday 20th March 2012

Zao Now (Archive Report)

Independent and trustworthy daily snow and weather reports from Zao Onsen region, Japan
ARCHIVE REPORT: Posted at 11:07am on Tuesday 20th March 2012
Current weather conditions
Observed fresh snowfall AT BASE
weather condition
Cloud, light snow up top
Base temp:
0°C

Top temp:
0°C
Precipitation Wind Visibility
precipitation condition
-
wind condition
Slight-moderate wind
Poor
PLEASE READ THIS
This report
Tuesday 20th March 2012, 11:07am
---
Monday 19th March 2012, 12:27pm ---
Sunday 18th March 2012, 10:47am ---
Saturday 17th March 2012, 9:03am ---
Friday 16th March 2012, 8:11am ---
Thursday 15th March 2012, 9:45am ---
Wednesday 14th March 2012, 11:57am ---
Last 7 reports (total): ---
Last 14 reports (total): ---
Current month (March 2012) total: ---
season so far total: ---

Archive report: Posted at 11:07am on Tuesday 20th March 2012
The latest Zao Now report can be found here

A snowy start to the day in Zao. I have a bit more snowfall to report, perhaps 2-3cm in village and hopefully a bit more than that out on the upper slopes, and a cold start to the day. Poor visibility on the mountain as well with only the lower parts of the slopes seen from the village and the upper areas all covered in cloud.

It was around -4 degrees earlier on this morning and I doubt that it is going to be rising much and will stay cold.

Taking a look at the forecast we can expect clearer conditions tomorrow and Thursday perhaps, but a return to snowy conditions from Friday and actually into next week with the potential for a decent snowfall. Which would be very nice.

Like I said yesterday, it's officially spring ski time from tomorrow with those cheaper lift ticket prices. Still a long way to go though. Let's hope the snow holds up good for us.

National holiday today and so busier than a normal Tuesday but not at weekend levels.

Official snow depths (20th March 12)
Utopia - 260cm
Chuo - 220cm
Paradise - 240cm
Uwanodai - 170cm

Operating lifts (20th March 12)
All Ropeways (Skycable, Zao Chuo Ropeway, Zao Ropeway) operating.
All the runs at Zao due to be open.

Archive report: Posted at 11:07am on Tuesday 20th March 2012
The latest Zao Now report can be found here

Zao Now ski lift operation notes:

Zao is open as normal

<
Monday 19th March 2012
This report
Tuesday 20th March 2012
Wednesday 21st March 2012
>
Daily snow reports
Other SnowJapan 'Now' reports and latest observed snowfall
Hakuba Now 0cm
Thursday 22nd April 2021, 8:45am
Geto Kogen Now 0cm
Thursday 22nd April 2021, 7:37am
Niseko Now 0cm
Thursday 22nd April 2021, 8:31am
Kiroro Now 0cm
Thursday 22nd April 2021, 8:24am
Yuzawa Now 0cm
Thursday 22nd April 2021, 8:10am
Nozawa Onsen Now 0cm
Thursday 22nd April 2021, 7:54am
Shiga Kogen Now 0cm
Wednesday 21st April 2021, 7:57am
Appi Kogen Now 0cm
Tuesday 20th April 2021, 8:28am
Furano Now 0cm
Monday 19th April 2021, 8:24am
Myoko Now 0cm
Saturday 17th April 2021, 8:19am
Madarao Now 0cm
Sunday 4th April 2021, 9:04am
Aizu Bandai Now 0cm
Thursday 26th November 2020, 11:22am
Minakami Now 0cm
Wednesday 16th December 2020, 10:07am
Naeba Now 0cm
Friday 27th November 2020, 7:58am
Japan snowfall data
(updated daily during winter)
Zao Now archived reporting
View previous reports posted to Zao Now by clicking on the month