Zao Now daily snow and weather - Tuesday 20th December 2011

Zao Now (Archive Report)

Independent and trustworthy daily snow and weather reports from Zao Onsen region, Japan
ARCHIVE REPORT: Posted at 5:08pm on Tuesday 20th December 2011
Current weather conditions
Observed fresh snowfall AT BASE
weather condition
Snow, cloud
Base temp:
0°C

Top temp:
0°C
Precipitation Wind Visibility
precipitation condition
-
wind condition
Slight wind
Fair
PLEASE READ THIS
This report
Tuesday 20th December 2011, 5:08pm
---
Monday 19th December 2011, 14:40pm ---
Sunday 18th December 2011, 10:36am ---
Saturday 17th December 2011, 10:53am ---
Thursday 15th December 2011, 10:02am ---
Wednesday 14th December 2011, 9:58am ---
Tuesday 13th December 2011, 10:53am ---
Last 7 reports (total): ---
Last 14 reports (total): ---
Current month (December 2011) total: ---
season so far total: ---

Archive report: Posted at 5:08pm on Tuesday 20th December 2011
The latest Zao Now report can be found here

Well, we really are seemingly getting stuck into winter mode now. Another 20cm or so I would estimate overnight and a bit more since then as well. The base on the slopes will be building up nicely. The official numbers below don't seem to have changed but let me tell you, there WAS 20cm this morning! ;)

There hasn't been much of a wind today but very cold and even down to -10 degrees in the village early this morning. If you're like me and not the best at getting up anyway, imagine getting up in those cold conditions.... there is good incentive though as the snow conditions on the mountain are really good, especially up top.

Right now, early evening, light snow is falling but things are calm and it has cleared up somewhat. Tomorrow we might see clearer conditions but after that we are back to the snow clouds and it looks like heavy snow is still forecast for Friday and into the weekend.

Official snow depths (20th Dec 11)

Utopia - 50cm
Chuo - 55cm
Paradise - 50cm
Uwanodai - 25cm

Operating lifts (20th Dec '11)
All Ropeways (Skycable, Zao Chuo Ropeway, Zao Ropeway) and most lifts.
Almost all of Zao is now open.

Archive report: Posted at 5:08pm on Tuesday 20th December 2011
The latest Zao Now report can be found here

Zao Now ski lift operation notes:

Most of Zao is now open.

<
Monday 19th December 2011
This report
Tuesday 20th December 2011
Wednesday 21st December 2011
>
Daily snow reports
Other SnowJapan 'Now' reports and latest observed snowfall
Shiga Kogen Now 0cm
Monday 10th May 2021, 8:40am
Yuzawa Now 0cm
Monday 10th May 2021, 8:28am
Furano Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 11:08am
Hakuba Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 9:23am
Nozawa Onsen Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 8:01am
Kiroro Now 0cm
Thursday 6th May 2021, 9:32am
Niseko Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 8:45am
Myoko Now 0cm
Sunday 2nd May 2021, 8:18am
Madarao Now 0cm
Sunday 4th April 2021, 9:04am
Geto Kogen Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 7:45am
Appi Kogen Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 7:40am
Aizu Bandai Now 0cm
Thursday 26th November 2020, 11:22am
Minakami Now 0cm
Wednesday 16th December 2020, 10:07am
Naeba Now 0cm
Friday 27th November 2020, 7:58am
Japan snowfall data
(updated daily during winter)
Zao Now archived reporting
View previous reports posted to Zao Now by clicking on the month