Zao Now daily snow and weather - Thursday 15th December 2011

Zao Now (Archive Report)

Independent and trustworthy daily snow and weather reports from Zao Onsen region, Japan
ARCHIVE REPORT: Posted at 10:02am on Thursday 15th December 2011
Current weather conditions
Observed fresh snowfall AT BASE
weather condition
Cloud, fog, snow (higher elevations)
Base temp:
0°C

Top temp:
0°C
Precipitation Wind Visibility
precipitation condition
-
wind condition
Moderate wind
Poor
PLEASE READ THIS
This report
Thursday 15th December 2011, 10:02am
---
Wednesday 14th December 2011, 9:58am ---
Tuesday 13th December 2011, 10:53am ---
Monday 12th December 2011, 9:25am ---
Sunday 11th December 2011, 10:17am ---
Saturday 10th December 2011, 9:17am ---
Friday 9th December 2011, 9:28am ---
Last 7 reports (total): ---
Last 14 reports (total): ---
Current month (December 2011) total: ---
season so far total: ---

Archive report: Posted at 10:02am on Thursday 15th December 2011
The latest Zao Now report can be found here

After the sunny conditions of yesterday - what a beauty - we are back to poor visibility, fog and more importantly snow (up top) this morning.

The forecast for the week pretty much has a line up of snowmen on it at the moment with the most promising days for snow currently looking to be tomorrow (Friday) and then mid next week which right now looks like it might be the first real proper dump of the season. Could that be the one that gets the whole mountain opening up?

Back to the present and for the moment lift operations remain the same as they have been the last few days which is not surprising as we haven't had any new snow. It's not really that cold (for Zao) this morning with temperatures hovering around the 0 area, but I think we can expect those to drop this afternoon.

Official snow depths (15th Dec '11)

Utopia - 40cm
Chuo - 50cm
Paradise - 40cm
Uwanodai - 10cm

Operating lifts (15th Dec '11)
All Ropeways (Skycable, Zao Chuo Ropeway, Zao Ropeway)
Chuo No1 Pair
Zao Paradise Pair
Utopia No1 Pair

Archive report: Posted at 10:02am on Thursday 15th December 2011
The latest Zao Now report can be found here

Zao Now ski lift operation notes:

Parts of Zao Onsen resort are now open with limited snow.

<
Wednesday 14th December 2011
This report
Thursday 15th December 2011
Saturday 17th December 2011
>
Daily snow reports
Other SnowJapan 'Now' reports and latest observed snowfall
Shiga Kogen Now 0cm
Friday 14th May 2021, 8:50am
Yuzawa Now 0cm
Friday 14th May 2021, 8:29am
Furano Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 11:08am
Hakuba Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 9:23am
Nozawa Onsen Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 8:01am
Kiroro Now 0cm
Thursday 6th May 2021, 9:32am
Niseko Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 8:45am
Myoko Now 0cm
Sunday 2nd May 2021, 8:18am
Madarao Now 0cm
Sunday 4th April 2021, 9:04am
Geto Kogen Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 7:45am
Appi Kogen Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 7:40am
Aizu Bandai Now 0cm
Thursday 26th November 2020, 11:22am
Minakami Now 0cm
Wednesday 16th December 2020, 10:07am
Naeba Now 0cm
Friday 27th November 2020, 7:58am
Japan snowfall data
(updated daily during winter)
Zao Now archived reporting
View previous reports posted to Zao Now by clicking on the month