Hi all-

New to the forums. I just paid my deposit for a 10 day trip to Niseko to ski with Black Diamond Lodge in late January. Big thanks to MitchPee for the advice. Anyway, it's my first time to Japan so I really want to engulf myself culturally...beginning with food. Due to the immense wealth of knowledge on this site I was hoping you guys might give me a short list of some can't-miss places in and around Niseko where I can grub hard. Not really looking for a list of pubs/bars where I can hang out with Aussies (no offense), my focus for the trip is more on the skiing/local culture than nightlife. So if you got 3-5 places you know that are great I would love to hear it.

Thanks. Think snow.

The Black Diamond restaurant is a good place to start :)

After that, grab a copy of the Niseko Guide when you get there -- lists dozens of restaurants.

Probably everyone who goes up there has their favorites, and places they'd suggest missing, and that's all personal preference that might not work for you. Have you ever eaten Japanese food? Do you have anything particular you like, or are interested in trying? What about Chinese cuisine? or Korean? or Indian? or Thai/Vietnamese/Middle Eastern? You can find all of those (I'm pretty sure) in Niseko, or definitely in Sapporo. And since you're in LA and therefore I must assume you've never enjoyed good Italian food... :sj-lol:

I have my favorites...the places where only the locals go, mainly because they can only be accessed by car, while most of the tourists are on the "walk around the village" plan. Staying at Black Diamond, you would need to arrange transport or ride the shuttle bus.

There is a guidebook published by the Niseko Promotion Board, be sure to pick it up, as it has listings for many restaurants, including very good, detailed maps with the shuttle bus routes, etc.

Suggestion for in village would be A-Bu-Cha, izakaya style, with a friendly vibe.