Did you work when you were a student?

I am a student now and I want to enjoy my free time. But I don't have much money. But I need money to do many things (not all of course). I am considering getting some kind of job, but don't really want to as then I will have less time also.

Did you work when you were at college?

yep, i always worked when i was at uni - i liked having money to do stuff and travel. i worked 20-30 hours a week.

didn't go to all my classes cos i couldn't be arsed and still managed to get through uni with no problems. then again, my grades were nothing spectacular.

Same here spook!

I worked from Yr 10 (15yrs old) onwards in one capacity or another. In 3rd year Uni it looked kinda like this:

I worked 4 days a week (Th, Fri, Sat and Sun) serving icecreams to snotty nosed kids in Subi for $6 an hour (it was back in the days of high unemployment - so I was not fussy!).

The lectures I missed at Uni on Thursday and Friday I listened to on tape in the library in between classes Mon-Wed. I scheduled all my tutorials and lab groups for Mon - Wed.

I also studied Mon Night and Wednesday night at Tafe for my Sign Language interpreters accreditation. Caught the bus from Uni to Tafe, and got then boyfriend, now hubby to pick me up at 9.30pm (it was Northbridge - bit dodgy at night).

I also planned my wedding, participated in a Uni Theatre production, and had a pretty active social life.

You're young - you can do it!

I must admit, my kids, and thier peers seem a lot more relectant to give up thier social time to earn cash - I worry that they are just not going to have the same drive and passion for success that we did.

I think it's important that kids work for their money.

I started when I was 10 doing the local paper round, the butcher shop, then progressing to Pizza.

My parents didn't let me go without, but if I wanted something outside of the essentials then I had to fo it myself!

My first Scott bars took me about 15 weeks to save for \:o